Forever 7 Day Shake Challenge – Day 1

Today I started a seven day shake challenge and I’m going to write a daily post about it.

Here’s what the challenge involves:

-Two of my main meals a day will be replaced with a Forever Lite Ultra protein shake and the third will consist of a high protein/low-carb meal.

-Each shake contains 50% of my required daily vitamins and nutrients and act as meal replacements.

-I also get free foods (all fruit and veg) which I can snack on throughout the day.

Day one was a success. I had very little time this morning to come up with anything inventive so I quickly blended some vanilla Forever Lite Ultra powder with 300ml of coconut milk and ran out the door.

When I finally arrived at my first university class I was able to sip away at the protein drink. It was still cold and well blended but I was sure to give it another good shake, just to be sure. It’s been a while since I’ve had one of these so I was pleasantly surprised when I remembered that it tastes just like a milkshake!

I was certainly slightly skeptical that the one shake would keep me satisfied until lunchtime; however,  my stomach didn’t rumble once. In fact, I felt quite energetic despite missing my usual morning coffee and didn’t think about food during the rest of my classes.

Because I didn’t want to carry around a second shake with me all day, I opted for an avocado and goats cheese salad for lunch instead. Normally, I would choose something quite high in carbs, especially on such a cold and busy Monday, but I was still feeling quite satisfied from the morning protein shake.

Apart from lunch, I had an apple (one of my free foods) in the afternoon to keep me going until dinner.

I didn’t get home until about 7pm this evening and I’ll be honest, I was feeling pretty tired and was craving something warm, savoury and comforting. So I’ll admit, the thought of drinking a sweet, cold protein shake was a little off-putting. For that reason, I whipped up a half-portion of spiralised butternut squash and corgetti to make myself feel better without feeling guilty; then I had the protein shake as “dessert”. I was perfectly happy after that!

At the end of day one, I feel very positive. Looking back, I think it might make more sense to have the shakes for breakfast and lunch, allowing me to enjoy a warm meal in the evening, because that just seems to be what my body wants/needs. On a whole however, I’m certainly surprised at how satisfied I felt after drinking the shakes and how easy it has actually been today. Because I’m not much of a morning person, whipping up a quick protein shake also keeps things simple and easy – hardly any fuss and no real need for me to get up any earlier than usual! Bonus!

Leave a Reply

